Ehlers-Danlos National Foundation

Ehlers-Danlos syndrome (EDS) is a heterogeneous group of heritable connective tissue disorders, characterized by articular (joint) hypermobility, skin extensibility and tissue fragility. There are six major types of EDS. The different types of EDS are classified according to their manifestations of signs and symptoms. Each type of EDS is a distinct disorder that “runs true” in a family. This means that an individual with Vascular Type EDS will not have a child with Classical Type EDS.


Knowledge Base

Learn About Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (EDS)

Ehlers-Danlos syndrome (EDS) is a group of inherited connective tissue disorders, caused by various defects in the synthesis of collagen. EDS is known to affect men and women of all racial and ethnic backgrounds.

There are six distinct types of EDS currently identified. All share joint laxity, soft skin, easy bruising, and some systemic manifestations. Each type is thought to involve a unique defect in connective tissue, although not all of the genes responsible for causing EDS have been found.

These six types are defined according to the signs and symptoms that are manifested, in a set of major and minor diagnostic criteria for each type. Each type of EDS is a distinct disorder that “runs true” in a family. This means that an individual with Vascular Type EDS will not normally have a child with Classical Type EDS. There a number of mutations identified as Ehlers-Danlos syndromes since the 1997 diagnostic criteria; these lie outside the classifications and can be located through the OMIM/Online Mendelian Inheritance in Man® database from Johns Hopkins University.

EDS History

The probable first description of EDS was by Hippocrates in 400 B.C. In 1657 a Dutch surgeon noted a case history of a boy with hyperextensible skin. The first association of hypermobile joints to skin was published in 1892 in Moscow by A.N. Chernogubov. Edvard Ehlers in 1901 defined it as a (still nameless) distinct disorder in a case history that included lax joints, hyperextensible skin and a tendency to bruise. In 1908, Henri-Alexandre Danlos published a second case history. In 1936, Frederick Parkes-Weber suggested the disorder be named Ehlers-Danlos syndrome.

The first classification of types of EDS originated in the late 1960s and was formalized in 1988; the Berlin nosology used a numbering for seven EDS types, some with lettered subtypes. Experience proved it to be too complicated, as the classification did not discriminate adequately between the types or between the Ehlers-Danlos syndromes and other related conditions. In 1997, the revised nosology was written at the Villefranche International Conference that redefined EDS into the current six named types.

This Months Member Highlight

Justin Hamilton is a third generation EDS patient, with both his mother and grandfather suffering from the condition. As we all know all too well, pain in EDS may be linked to a number of factors,  including the likelihood of joint dislocation, how prone a patient is to illness, previous surgeries, and underlying muscular issues. Regardless of that source, Justin’s doing his part to make the lives of those living with EDS more lively.

How? His company, Royal CBD, aims to provide pain relief for EDS patient through his line of full spectrum CBD oils for sale online.

“My mission is to provide a natural way for us EDS patients to minimize their daily pain, which is why we sell pure CBD oil, CBD gummies, and CBD capsules with one cornerstone goal: to provide EDS patients the pain relief that they all long for. I know first hand how difficult it is to be afraid to get out of bed because of my joint pain, and while not a one size fits all solution,  CBD shows promise on reducing pain and inflammation associated with EDS.”

Royal CBD has been voted by the National Healthy Mothers, Healthy Babies foundation as “The Best CBD Oil for Pain & Inflammation” in their 2019 roundup. Justin has been kind enough to provide a coupon code: use code EDNF at checkout for 10% off your order.

What is Ehlers-Danlos Syndrome (EDS)?

What is EDS? Individuals with Ehlers-Danlos syndromes (EDS) have a genetic defect in their connective tissue, the tissue that provides support to many body parts such as the skin, muscles and ligaments. The fragile skin and unstable joints found in...